February 27, 2020, 10:58 pm     Trending Topics     claudine barrettoRaymart SantiagoMiss World 2013Chito MirandaNeri NaigMegan Young
pinoystop home

Charo Santos-Concio, Ted Failon Receive Golden Dove Lifetime Achievement Awards

ABS-CBN personalities Charo Santos-Concio and Ted Failon recently received the highest awards given by the Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas at the 21st Golden Dove Awards.

Santos-Concio received the Lifetime Achievement Award while Failon bagged the Ka Doroy Broadcaster of the Year Award.

The awards were given by the KBP on Friday, April 26, at the Star Theater, Star City complex in Pasay City.

Santos-Concio, who is currently the President and CEO of ABS-CBN, said in her acceptance speech that the award reminded her of her roots. She also joked that being given to her is proof that she is aging.

“Ito pong award na ito ay patunay na nagkakaedad na 'ko,” she said.

“It is humbling to be part of the roster of the KBP Lifetime Achievement Awardees. I would like to thank Gabby Lopez and the hardworking men and women of ABS-CBN,” she added.

The acclaimed television personality got nostalgic saying “Itong karangalan na ito ay nagbabalik-alaala sa akin bilang fan sa Calapan, Oriental Mindoro na nanonood ng mga pelikula at mga programa ng ABS-CBN.”

She added “I just wanted to be a good storyteller like my father and my job allows me to be one.”

Failon's acceptance speech also hinted of nostalgia.

“Forty years ng KBP this year at timing rin po dahil 30th year ko na sa broadcast. Very timely at very inspiring sa akin na galing sa maliit na istasyon sa probinsiya,” he said.

“Gusto ko lang noon na marinig ng nanay ko ang boses ko sa radyo,” he added.

He would not be the awarded broadcaster he is today, however, if he followed what his father wanted him to do.

He said that his father wanted him to become a shopkeeper at an eatery near a construction site.

Failon also said that his career has turned into more than just for fame and ambition.

“Sa 30 years ko sa broadcasting, 23 na taon na yun ay sa ABS-CBN... After 30 years, hindi ito simpleng ambisyon. Hindi lang ito fame, fortune and glory. Ito ay mission pala. Ang aking tinig at aking talento ay pahiram lang ng Diyos,” he said.

The radio and television newscaster thanked Gabby Lopez during his speech, saying the ABS-CBN boss was the person who loaned him the money to buy his first apartment because that time, he was sleeping inside the ABS-CBN driver's quarters.

Meanwhile, ABS-CBN was the most awarded network during the 21st Golden Dove Awards. Below follows the full list of winners:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Charo Santos-Concio
Ka Doroy Broadcaster of the Year Award: Ted Failon
Best Television Station: ABS-CBN
Best AM Radio Station: DZMM
Best FM Radio Station (Manila): Monster Radio RX93.1
Best FM Radio (provincial): Radyo Natin Network (Manila Broadcasting)


Best Actress for Drama Program: Janice de Belen (ABS-CBN)
Best Actor for Drama Program: Gerald Anderson (ABS-CBN)
Best Magazine Program Host: Korina Sanchez (ABS-CBN)
Best TV Newscaster: Cheryl Cosim (TV5)
Best TV Public Affairs Host: Anthony Taberna (ABS-CBN)
Best TV Public Service Program Host: Bernadette Sembrano, Salamat Dok (ABS-CBN)

Best Newscast: TV Patrol (ABS-CBN)
Best Public Affairs Program: Patrol Ng Pilipino (ABS-CBN)
Best Variety Program: Sarah G. Live (ABS-CBN)
Best Children’s Program: Wansapanatym (ABS-CBN)
Best Magazine Program: Rated K (ABS-CBN)
Best Drama Program: Maalaala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN)
Best Science and Technology Program: Convergence (Net25)
Best Sports Program: Sports Unlimited (ABS-CBN)
Best TV Documentary: San Pedro Calungsod (ABS-CBN)
Best Television PSA: “Choose Philippines: Penumbra” (ABS-CBN)
Best TV Station Promotional Material: “Lumiliwanag Ang Mundo Sa Puso Ng Pasko”(ABS-CBN)


Best Public Affairs Program: Failon Ngayon (DZMM)
Best Comedy Program: Countdown Top 7 (RX93.1)
Best Sports Program: Sports Talk (DZMM)
Best Radio Newscaster: Julius Babao (DZMM)
Best Public Affairs Program Host: Karen Davila (DZMM)
Best Music Radio Jock: Tom Alvarez (RX93.1)
Best Radio Magazine Program Host: Winnie Cordero
Best Science & Technology Journalist: Louie Tabing (DZMM)
Best Radio Public Service Program Host: Luchi Cruz Valdes (ABC)

Like this post? Please share!

Charo Santos-Concio, Ted Failon Receive Golden Dove Lifetime Achievement Awards

More News

comments powered by Disqus