September 16, 2019, 10:04 pm     Trending Topics     claudine barrettoRaymart SantiagoMiss World 2013Chito MirandaNeri NaigMegan Young
pinoystop home

Gma Wins Another Peabody Award As ‘salat’ Reel Time Documentary Earns Acclaim

GMA Network, Inc. has won another Peabody Award.

The Henry W. Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communications of the University of Georgia has announced that GMA Network, Inc., through GMA News TV, is among the 39 recipients of the 72nd Annual Peabody Awards.

GMA won the Peabody for its Reel Time documentary titled “Salat” (Bone Dry).

In its announcement, the institution described “Salat” as an “unflinching portrait of a widow with six mouths to feed” which “personifies a brutal statistic: two out of 10 Filipino children are malnourished."

“Salat” was first shown in the Philippines through GMA News TV last year.

The Peabody Awards, or the George Foster Peabody Awards, is the longest-running broadcasting award in the world. The Grady College says that it is “considered among the most prestigious and selective prizes in electronic media.”

It honors excellence, distinguished achievement and meritorious public service of radio and television stations, networks, production organizations and individuals.

The Peabody Awards was established in 1940 at the aforementioned school, originally only giving awards for achievement in radio but later also giving awards for television and internet published materials.

During the announcement of the winners of the latest Peabody Awards, Horace Newcomb, Peabody Awards director, said that their recipients for 2012 “demonstrates the range of superb work.”

“From local to national to international, from radio to television, broadcast to cable to web, the Peabody sets the goals for every type of media production,” he continued.

GMA Network, Inc. is the only network in the Philippines to have won Peabody prizes.

It won its first Peabody award in 1999 for the documentaries I-Witness: Kidneys for Sale, I-Witness: Kamao and Brigada Siete: Child Labor.

These awards were followed in 2009 by a Peabody for another I-Witness documentary titled “Ambulansiyang De Paa” (Ambulance on Foot).

The 72nd Annual Peabody Awards will be awarded to recipients on May 20 at the Waldorf-Astoria hotel in New York City.

Winners of the awards are vetted by the Peabody Board which is composed of 16 experts ranging from industry practitioners, broadcasting critics, and arts and culture experts.

Like this post? Please share!

gma wins another peabody award as ‘salat’ reel time documentary earns acclaim

More News

comments powered by Disqus